Wabi Sabi Salon

I recently attended a friend’s wedding that was catered by Wabi Sabi Restaurant. So here is my review for the catering component as I have yet to dine at the restaurant itself in Collingwood.

I understand Wabi Sabi create more of an authentic home style and fusion Japanese style of cuisine – just as you would find in Japan! Boy do I miss Japan. The menu of the evening was extensive.  I can see the banquet on offered would be great for sharing however we got them as individual plates per courses.

Appetisers: Sashimi Carpaccio and Sushi – Cooked Tuna, Ocean Trout Nigiri.

Shashimi Capachio and Sushi - Cooked Tuna, Ocean Trout Nigiri

Shashimi Capachio and Sushi - Cooked Tuna, Ocean Trout Nigiri 2

The Appetisers were fresh and light to start off with, I’m not often one for raw fishes etc. but when they’re sourced daily from the markets (or I would assume) they do taste rather delicious combined with all the different sauces. For appetisers I must say, there are a generous amount of sushi and sashimi on the plate.

Entrée: Pork Belly Bao w Jap pickled, Soft Shell Crab Tempura w Ponzu Chilli Sauce, Chicken Karaage w Soy mint sauce.

Pork Belly Bao w Jap pickled, Soft Shell Crab Tempura w Ponzu Chilli Sauce, Chicken Karaage w Soy mint sauce.

Pork Belly Bao w Jap pickled, Soft Shell Crab Tempura w Ponzu Chilli Sauce, Chicken Karaage w Soy mint sauce. 2

My favourite course/s of the banquet!  Who can say no to a deliciously cooked Pork Belly Bao with a nice glazed that complemented well with the pickled cabbage. The bao unfortunately was a bit cold by the time it got to our table though so that was a bit of a shame. The chicken Karaage was tender in the inside and lovely crispy on the outside. I am however missing the mayo though. Although the soy mint was tasty, it sort of just got sucked into the crispy skin making it a bit soggy after I finished my bao. The softshell grab was good but there were a bit too much tempura coating on the crab itself.

Main: Crumbed Sword Fish with rice, thinly sliced Pork Loin Shabu Shabu style, Cold Soba Noodles with Tiger King Prawns with sesame.

Crumbed Sword Fish with rice, thinly sliced Pork Loin Shabu Shabu style, Cold Soba Noodles with Tiger King prawns with seasame.

By this stage I was getting really full. However “I don’t say no to foods!”  The main course/s was a bit of a let-down. It was presented nicely on the plate though, so totally Instagram worthy! I found that the pork was overcooked so it was too dry to eat, the cold soba noodles was rather wet and plain and the crumbed fish was just a crumbed fish… nothing special? Perhaps, more seasoning for the course overall?

Dessert: Tasting Platter consisting of mini cheesecake, Pannacotta and Black Sesame Icecream.

Dessert Tasting Platter - Cheesecake, Pannacotta and Black Sesame Icecream

I love a good tasting platter! Desserts were defiantly delicious. Ok the cheesecake and pannacotta was a bit too creamy for my liking – I like when it is a bit more set like wobbly gelatine, but that Icecream was definitely a highlight. It was sweet and creamy which melted in my mouth. What a great way to end the meal!

“The more you eat, the less flavor; the less you eat, the more flavor.” ~ Chinese Proverb

Till next time

xox

Wabi Sabi Salon Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

