Taste-T on Collins

What a cute little joint in a busy food court location on Collin Street~ Taste-T features traditional Vietnamese street food with a touch of western influence. First impression ~ Very clean with simple fit outs, less is more sometimes I say! Menu was easy to read and understand with popular dishes such as rice paper rolls, banh-mi, pho, noodle salad and Pho.

IMG_1065[1]

I was suggested to try the Pho – so that i did and got the mixed meats option (beef and chicken). The broth was crystal clear (like a delicious French consommé) and very flavoursome i.e. the earthiness that the broth produced after been simmered for hours in bones, aromatics etc.  There were heaps of meats! Often I would review that there are too little! Boy of boy. Slightly regret not just getting the beef on its own as the chicken component was a little bit overcooked. And I could have gone with a bit more authenticity – where’s the oxtail and flank and tribes? I would suggest an added option for the side in the future for the pho-lovers? I’m also missing the extra herbs and bean sprout etc. – the garnishes that you associate with a good bowl of pho. However for a hot steamy bowl at that size in a food court of Melbourne CBD for $9 I’m not complaining!

IMG_1074[1]

IMG_1085[1]

The second item we got was the banh-mi. At $6 I knew that it was definitely an affordable option for busy city workers during lunchtime already. I didn’t even realised you could get a banh-mi in the city for under $7 nowadays. This is definitely more westernised as its missing out on the pate and mayo spread on the baguette, that you would see from a traditional banh-mi food cart on the streets of Vietnam however don’t get me wrong it was certainly still a deliciously tasty looking baguette.  I would prefer the meat to be heated up and bread to be toasted slightly on its own rather than via a flat toaster – however that’s a minor issue!

IMG_1082[1]

IMG_1081[1]

Then we washed it down with 2 giant cups of Vietnamese ice coffee and home-made peach tea (which was presented rather nicely). YUMMMYYY!!!! Both were a touch too sweet for my liking but definitely reminded me of all my Vietnam trips.

IMG_1064[1]

Overall I lovely experience! I like the rows of sriracha sauce bottle on displayed but perhaps a bit more like some Vietnamese non-la , sugarcane or photos of sit-lo etc. CHEESY… but rather effective to attract potential customers (or at least someone like me ha-ha!). Did I also mention the services were top-notched??? Nothing better than seeing happy smiley faces from the start to the end of the meal.  Keep smiling girls!

IMG_1069[1]

“To me, life without veal stock, pork fat, sausage, organ meat, demi-glace, or even stinky cheese is a life not worth living.” ~ Anthony Bourdain

Till next time
xox

| Courtesy invite by Taste-T on Collins. Opinions are my own. |

Taste T on Collins Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

